Change UK to Change Name (Again)


Change UK has applied to the Electoral Commission to change its name... Again. The party, initially called The Independent Group (or TiG) became Change UK - The Independent Group (or CHUK - TiG) but were commonly known as Change UK (CHUK) in the run up to the European Parliament elections last month. 

This move follows legal action from the petition site Change.org, which had threatened to sue the party over their name which they claimed was too similar. In a statement, Change UK said that they had agreed with Change.org that they would change the party's name after the election as it was raised with them too close for the paperwork to go through before the vote. 

The party went on to say that they had asked Change.org for more time to change their name, but had been informed that their request had been denied and they had been told that they must change their name without delay. 

Change UK's proposed new name is The Independent Group for Change. It is likely that the Electoral Commission will accept this proposal. 

Anna Soubry became the party's leader after the European Elections, as over half of the party's MPs left the group to sit as independents including Heidi Allen who was their leader at the time. Five other MPs left the party alonside Allen: Luciana Berger, Gavin Shuker, Angela Smith, Chuka Umunna, and Dr Sarah Wollaston. The party had recieved 3.4% of the vote and no MEPs, robustly beaten by the Lib Dems and the Greens. The remaining Change UK MPs are Anna Soubry, Chris Leslie, Joan Ryan, Mike Gapes and Ann Coffey.

The Electoral Commission previously rejected Change UK's initial logo design, as it included the accronym TIG alongside the hashtag #Change. They ruled the acconym was not sufficiently well known and that hashtags should not be included in logos.